Jochen Plogsties: vor Tizian nach Monet

24 April – 5 June 2021

Finissage:
5 June, 11 am – 6 pm

A woman sits with an upright posture in a portico. The green dress flows down her body, the face only sketchy, but her proud charisma works with all its power. It is the image of a queen. On another canvas, a wooden bridge arches in a sea of green colors. Below it water lilies, patches of vibrant color.
What do we see, what do we recognize? Greta Thunberg and Monet? It is affects with which Jochen Plogsties plays – conscious associations. The models, be they old master icons, major works of various art historical epochs or depictions from magazines, are borrowings that become independent into something of their own, completely self-sufficient. The first impression is driven to dissolution and fanned out into different levels of space, time and being. The most obvious ambiguity is formed by the grids that Jochen Plogsties places over or under his pictures. These are sometimes more and sometimes less determining in the composition, but always hinge between association, irritation and individual perception.
It seems impossible to grasp all (pictorial) levels. Like two mirrors facing each other in parallel, an infinite space opens up. What ultimately becomes central is the permeability of the experience of the world that is reflected in Jochen Plogstie’s pictures. No dress, no bridge, no lake – but pure color and an infinite play with memories, subjective imagination and collective presence.

 

Jochen Plogsties (*1974 in Cochem an der Mosel) lives and works in Leipzig.

1999 to 2003 studies at the Academy of Fine Arts of the Johannes Gutenberg University Mainz, from 2003 to 2006 studies at the Academy of Visual Arts (HGB) Leipzig with Prof. Arno Rink. In 2008 he graduated as a Meisterschüler (post graduated studies) with Neo Rauch. In 2011 he received the art award of the Leipziger Volkszeitung accompanied by a solo exhibition at the Museum der bildenden Künste (MdbK), Leipzig. 2009 the presence scholarship at the ISCP in New York. 2014 “Kisses in the afternoon” at the Kestnergesellschaft, Hanover, 2018 “Only Lovers Left Alive” at the Colletors Room, Hamburg, 2019 “Yang Chen” at the Brandenburg State Museum of Modern Art, Packof, Frankfurt / Oder and numerous other solo and group exhibitions.

Jochen Plogsties: vor Tizian nach Monet

24. April – 5. Juni 2021

Finissage:
5. Juni, 11 – 18 Uhr

Eine Frau sitzt mit aufrechter Haltung in einem Säulengang. Das grüne Kleid fließt an ihrem Körper herab, das Gesicht nur skizzenhaft, aber ihre stolze Ausstrahlung wirkt mit ganzer Kraft. Es ist das Bild einer Königin. Auf einer anderen Leinwand wölbt sich eine Holzbrücke im grünen Farbenmeer. Darunter Seerosen, Flecken in pulsierendem Bunt.
Was sehen wir, was haben wir wiedererkannt? Greta Thunberg und Monet? Es sind Affekte mit denen Jochen Plogsties spielt – bewusste Assoziationen. Die Vorbilder, seien es altmeisterliche Ikonen, Hauptwerke verschiedenster kunsthistorischer Epochen oder Darstellungen aus Magazinen, sind Anleihen, die in etwas Eigenes, vollkommen autarkes verselbständigt werden. Die erste Impression wird zur Auflösung getrieben und in verschiedene Ebenen des Raums, der Zeit und des Seins aufgefächert. Die offensichtlichste Doppeldeutigkeit bilden die Raster, die Jochen Plogsties über oder unter seine Bilder legt. Diese sind mal mehr und mal weniger bestimmend in der Komposition, immer aber Scharnier zwischen Assoziation, Irritation und individueller Wahrnehmung.
Es scheint unmöglich, alle (Bild-)Ebenen zu (be)greifen. Wie bei zwei sich parallel gegenüberstehenden Spiegeln öffnet sich ein unendlicher Raum. Was letztlich zentral wird ist die Durchlässigkeit der Welterfahrung, die sich in Jochen Plogsties Bildern spiegelt. Kein Kleid, keine Brücke, kein See – sondern reine Farbe und ein unendliches Spiel mit Erinnerungen, subjektiver Imagination und kollektiver Gegenwart.

 

Jochen Plogsties (*1974 in Cochem an der Mosel) lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig.

1999 bis 2003 Studium an der Akademie für Bildende Künste der Johannes-Gutenberg-Universität Mainz, von 2003 bis 2006 Studium an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst (HGB) Leipzig bei Prof. Arno Rink. 2008 Meisterschülerabschluss bei Neo Rauch. Er erhielt 2011 den Kunstpreis der Leipziger Volkszeitung begleitet von einer Einzelausstellung im Museum der bildenden Künste (MdbK), Leipzig. 2009 das Präsenzstipendium am ISCP in New York. 2014 „Küsse am Nachmittag“ in der Kestnergesellschaft, Hannover, 2018 „Only Lovers Left Alive“ im Colletors Room, Hamburg, 2019 „Yang Chen“ im Brandenburgischen Landesmuseum für Moderne Kunst, Packof, Frankfurt / Oder sowie zahlreiche weitere Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen.