Franziska Holstein: HDV

19 June – 24 July 2021
Opening: 19 June 11 – 6 pm

HDV – horizontal, diagonal and vertical – these are construction principles that underlie Franziska Holstein’s serial work.
HDV is also the title of the exhibition, which is Franziska Holstein’s first solo show in Leipzig since 2017.

Her works are created serially and always expose their own process of creation. In the paintings, the material overlaps many times and preserves the traces of the physical and grasping mode of production. This also applies to her abstract prints. Following a fixed system of rules, Franziska Holstein rearranges a recurring form again and again – horizontally, diagonally and vertically. In the repetition and variation, a rhythm is established that makes a meditative mode possible: when the options for action are defined, the head is switched off in active action, inutition and impulse take over.
The exploration of all possible constellations in both painting and graphic art is ultimately based on a preoccupation with oneself. Holstein does not give her works titles, but numbers that exclude ambiguities and deliberately leave no room for broad interpretations.

Franziska Holstein, born in 1978, lives and works in Leipzig. She studied at the Academy of Visual Arts (HGB) with Prof. Arno Rink and graduated in 2008 as a master student of Prof. Neo Rauch. Franziska Holstein received the Sachsenbank Art Prize in 2012 with an accompanying solo exhibition at the Museum der bildenden Künste (MdbK), Leipzig. She has been involved in exhibitions at Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2017), Kunstverein Bad Dürkheim (2017), Kunstverein Bremerhaven (2019) and the “Jetzt! Young Painting in Germany” exhibition (2019/20) which took place at Kunstmuseum Bonn, Museum Wiesbaden, Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz Museum Gunzenhauser and Deichtorhallen Hamburg.

Franziska Holstein: HDV

19. Juni – 24. Juli 2021
Eröffnung 19. Juni 11 – 18 Uhr

HDV – horizontal, diagonal und vertikal – das sind Konstruktionsprinzipien, die der seriellen Arbeit von Franziska Holstein zugrunde liegen.
HDV ist auch der Titel der Ausstellung, die die erste Einzelausstellung von Franziska Holstein in Leipzig seit 2017.

Ihre Arbeiten entstehen seriell und legen immer auch ihren eigenen Entstehungsprozess frei. In den Malereien überlagert sich das Material vielfach und konserviert die Spuren der physischen und begreifenden Herstellungsweise. Dies gilt auch für ihre abstrakten Drucke. Einem festen Regelsystem folgend, ordnet Franziska Holstein eine wiederkehrende Form immer wieder neu an – horizontal, diagonal und vertikal. In der Wiederholung und Variation stellt sich ein Rhythmus ein, der einen meditativen Modus ermöglicht: Wenn die Handlungsoptionen definiert sind, dann ist im aktiven Handeln der Kopf ausgeschaltet, Inutition und Impuls übernehmen die Regie.
Der Auslotung aller möglichen Konstellationen in sowohl Malerei als auch Grafik liegt letztendlich die Beschäftigung mit sich selbst zugrunde. Dabei versieht Holstein ihre Arbeiten nicht mit Titeln, sondern Nummern, die Doppeldeutigkeiten ausschließen und bewusst keinen Raum für weitläufige Interpretationen zulassen.

Franziska Holstein, geboren 1978, lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig. Sie studierte an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst (HGB) bei Prof. Arno Rink und schloss 2008 mit dem Meisterschüler*innenabschluss bei Prof. Neo Rauch ab. Franziska Holstein erhielt 2012 den Kunstpreis der Sachsenbank mit begleitender Einzelausstellung im Museum der bildenden Künste (MdbK), Leipzig. Sie war beteiligt an den Ausstellungen im Kunstmuseum Stuttgart (2017), im Kunstverein Bad Dürkheim (2017), im Kunstverein Bremerhaven (2019) und der „Jetzt! Junge Malerei in Deutschland“–Ausstellung (2019/20) die im Kunstmuseum Bonn, Museum Wiesbaden, Kunstsammlungen Chemnitz Museum Gunzenhauser und den Deichtorhallen Hamburg stattfand.